top of page

Process: Trial and error

It took a long time to figure out how to make this sort of graphic. Once I did figure it out it was just a matter of adjusting it to the distance I wanted my viewers to be able to read them at.

This was tough project to get right because these images don't translate the same in print as they do digitally. It took a lot of testing to make sure that the images are no too visible when at reading distance.

It came down to trial and error when creating these images. I printed countless tests to adjust visibility from certain distances. In the end I decided that having slight grey lines instead of black makes the images less visible from close up but just as visible from a far. With black the graphic was a bit too obvious even from about one foot away.

Another issue was the titles. These were problematic because darker colors were not eligible if the lighting in the room wasn't perfect. Of course I wanted to give these titles the same treatment and tailor each to the specific poster as well.

I used bold Futura 72pt font for the titles. I chose Futura because of it geaometric design. The bold variant is very ellegible as well. Using Futura also created an interesting contradiction between a typeface made in the 20s and a typeface like Ubuntu made a few years ago.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page